Pipe shelf

A while ago I came across a post on a Swedish design blog. (I was looking for design ideas really.) And I came across this simple little book shelf this couple had built using reclaimed wood and off the shelf gas pipe. I’ve seen similar things built on the web but nothing exactly like I wanted so I thought I would take that idea and modify it for my living room entertainment shelf. I designed this in google sketchup. It’s 16 feet long by 7x 14 deep.
That’s a damn long shelf. But I needed it to create a focal point in the room.

Industrial modern pipe shelving

Industrial modern pipe shelf entertainment center

Industrial modern pipe shelf entertainment center

Industrial modern pipe shelf entertainment center

Living room wall before

Living room wall before

Industrial modern pipe shelf progress

Industrial modern pipe shelf progress

Everything you see was just bought off the shelf at the Home Depot. Working out in my new shop, I started by building everything in two eight foot sections so I could move it into the house without a problem. I brought the eight foot sections in from the shop and joined them in my living room. I attached support braces to the studs on the wall and supported the front with the pipe sections as I went.

I then joined the top portions and stacked it on top of the bottom and attached them together from the bottom.

pipe shelf progress

pipe shelf progress

Black pipe support detail

Black pipe support detail

Pipe shelf progress

Pipe shelf progress

No plumbers crack here

No plumbers crack here

Industrial modern pipe shelf build.

Industrial modern pipe shelf build.

I then drilled holes through the top and bottom and stuck my pipe through. (I know what you’re thinking.)

Pipe shelf detail

Pipe shelf detail

shelf detail

shelf detail

Industrial pipe shelf progress.

Industrial pipe shelf progress.

Industrial modern pipe shelf detail

Industrial modern pipe shelf detail

Industrial modern pipe shelf detail

Industrial modern pipe shelf detail

Industrial modern entertainment center

Industrial modern entertainment center

Industrial modern entertainment center

Industrial modern entertainment center

The next thing on my list is recovering the fugly fireplace. Stay tuned.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About marumodern

Creativet

14 responses to “Pipe shelf”

  1. Daniel says :

    This is wonderful! I love your take on the pipe shelving. We’ve been thinking of creating another one for somewhere else in the house. Fantastic Job!

    • marumodern says :

      Thank you Daniel, I follow your blog weekly and really like the items in your shop. I’ll be starting to put some of things I make here available for sale as well.

  2. mike says :

    nice work. where’d you get the wood?

  3. NB says :

    Just scrolled thru’ your blog. nice work. Looks like your house is coming along nicely

  4. Zach says :

    Hey, really like the pipe shelving. I was wondering what kind of wood you used? and what type of stain? Great work keep it up.

    • marumodern says :

      Hi Zach
      Thanks for the post and the kind words. I used regular pine and cut it into strips so I could piece it together to make it look like one continuous shelf. I used four different stains to give it a pieced together look. I’ve found that black stain mixed with paint thinner will give you a nice aged look

  5. Lisa Kwan says :

    OMG this is amazing…great job! I wish I was as handy with tools.

  6. Liz says :

    This is amazing….but i’m a little confused as to how ‘stable’ it is. I see the pipe fitting through the shelving but how does the shelving not just slide back down to the floor and how much weight can it support in this mode? I think i’m dimensionally challenged or maybe i just can’t figure out the close ups. I have seen this done with flanges and that seems more stable. Thanks.

    • marumodern says :

      Hi Liz,
      The shelf is totally stable. In the third picture you can see battens that were attached to the wall first. Then there are flanges that support the front from the underside which are invisible.

      Hope that makes sense.

  7. Liz says :

    Hi again,
    I think i get it….Thanks!

  8. Elsa felton says :

    Will you consider building the floating console for sale? I am very inteprested

Leave a Reply

