The last thing my dad ever built

My dad- like me, has always been a handy guy and I guess that’s where I get some of my skill at building things from. Unlike me, he always kept everything… three foot pieces of rope, a three inch long piece of copper pipe and even old scraps of wood saying “you never know when you’re going to need it” or “I’d hate to have to go BUY three inches of copper pipe”. Well his wisdom came in real handy when I decided to build this mantle for my fireplace.

Stacked neatly in his reclaimed scrap wood pile l rummaged through scraps of two by fours and small pieces of plywood to find what had to be 60 year old boards covered in old paint and dust. One even has a date and initials hand written on it. JS 12-11-55.

I pulled them out and cut them down to size and arranged them in a visually appealing manner, taking care to use the most crusty old looking sides.
I then simply attached them all together and gave them a few coats of clear to stop flaking paint.

My father passed away on March 25th but I know he would have been ecstatic that I used the wood he’d been saving for me for the last 56 years.

56 year old mantle

56 year old mantle

56 year old mantle

56 year old mantle

56 year old mantle

56 year old mantle

56 year old mantle

56 year old mantle

About marumodern

Creativet

3 responses to “The last thing my dad ever built”

  1. linda b says :

    That is beautiful Patrick. 🙂 your dad would be so proud that you built that beautiful mantle.

  2. Best Sista says :

    So proud to call you my brother! Dad is smiling down upon you Patrick and thinking what a great son he has in you!!!!

  3. Jennifer says :

    I loved this when I saw it last weekend,but didn’t know its amazing history. I’m sure your dad would be so proud to know how well you honored him.

Leave a Reply

